Did a 2mm error rob Alexander Zverev in the French Open final? German star bemoans bad luck as replays show crucial line call in the fifth set against Carlos Alcaraz was WRONG...
with Hawkeye unavailable Alexander Zverev had a crucial line call go against him in the French Open final Replays showed the call was wrong, but Hawkeye was not available Zverev went on to lose the deciding set against Carlos Alcaraz at Roland Garros By Sam Brookes Published: 03:30 EDT, 10 June 2024 | Updated: 03:30 EDT, 10 June 2024 e-mail View comments Alexander Zverev was left seething after a crucial line call went against him in the fifth set of his French Open final with Carlos Alcaraz on Sunday. The two men shared the opening four sets, before Alcaraz opened up an early lead in the decider, but Zverev fashioned two opportunities to break back and square things up at 2-2. The first break point saw Alcaraz hit a second serve that Zverev was adamant had gone out, but he was overruled by the chair umpire, who even came down from his seat to check the mark in the clay.
Following further inspection, the umpire stuck with his decision to the disbelief of Zverev, and Alcaraz was awarded the point. With Hawkeye unavailable at Roland Garros, Zverev had to accept the call and play on, but television replays later showed that Alcaraz's serve had actually been out by 2mm and the point should have gone to Zverev. It proved to be a huge moment in the match as Alcaraz went on to hold before dominating the rem.